Riley O’Toole tops in football: Montgomery

December 4, 2010
Time to look back at the 2010 football season. Fans couldn't be too surprised at the success of Curie. Curie had a talented trio of Maurice Fleming, Kevonta McIntrye, and Brandon Barker. This reporter was impressed after watching Curie beat Lane 37-7. The Condors (9-6) eventually won the Public League beating perennial contender Morgan Park 40-34 in one of the most exciting title games ever at Gately Stadium. Curie's dream season ended in a 6-0 loss to Fenwick(8-5) in the Prep Bowl last Friday at Soldier Field. Curie was making their first appearance in the city championship game. Curie had chances to win this contest gaining over 250 yards. Curie drove inside the Fenwick 20-yard line five times and failed to score. This was a physical game as Fleming was knocked out of the game twice. Unfortunately, there wasn't much to celebrate in our circulation area. No area team had a winning record and all four squads failed to make the playoffs. My choice for Player of the Year in our area is Lane running back Fred Williams. Williams was one of the few bright lights in as 4-5 season for the Indians who were adjusting to a new coach and new offense. Amundsen (2-7) received great fan support despite playing atough section against Morgan Park, Hubbard, and CVS. A storyline for next year will be Lake View linebacker Ashley Diaz. Diaz played on the sophomore team and has caught the attention of the CHICAGO FORCE women's football team. Lake View won only once in 2010 after losing nine players. Another player to watch next season will be Gordon quarterback Julian Russell. Russell rushed for 871 yards on a 2-7 team. The Rams were unable to make the big play in critical situations this past season. The news on the North side wasn't all bad as Senn (9-1) made the state playoffs and lost to Grayslake Central in the opening round. Will a Public League team ever win a state football championship? Simeon(11-1) certainly showed they had the right stuff after upsetting Mt Carmel in the opening game at Soldier Field. Simeon lost in the state quarterfinals to Lake Zurich 17-14. My choice for Player of the Year in the Chicago area is easy. Wheaton South quarterback Reilly O'Toole had a magnificent season throwing 42 touchdown passes to lead the Tigers(14-0) to their seventh state football title. Many fans and observers wondered how Maine South would do after the graduation of running back Matt Perez. All Perez did in 2009 was rush for 34 touchdowns to lead Maine South to back-to-back state titles. Maine South (12-2) won its third straight Class 8A state title over Mt Carmel (11-3) last Saturday night in Champaign. The Hawks lost their first two games of the season. The Hawks have won three straight titles with three different quarterbacks. The future looks bright with sophomore Matt Alvitti. My choice for Coach of the Year in the Chicago area is Homewood-Flossmoor's Craig Buzea. HF went from 1-8 to 10-3 and a berth in the state football semifinals where they were beaten by Mt. Carmel. Congratulations to eight state football champions. Finally, team to watch in basketball will be Simeon. The player to watch will be Anthony Davis who plays for Perspectives in the Public League and the 6-10 senior who is going to Kentucky is considered one of the top players in the country.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,